Registered charity 1059047

The National Association of Writers' Groups

HomeCompetitionsCompetition Results ♦ Members' Competition Results 2012

Members' Competition Results 2012

2012 NAWG Annual Writing Awards – Final Results

The writers below were short-listed in the 2012 writing competitions. Congratulations to all of you for achieving this high status. But only one can be the winner and it was at the Annual Gala Dinner, Saturday evening, 1st September 2012 that the winners were declared.

As always, it was declared that only the competition administrator and your chairman knew who the winners were.

Our administrator, Chris Huck, received all the entries, sorted them into the relevant categories. After he had numbered them they were forwarded to the nine judges. The judges had no way of knowing whose entry they were reading. After the judging was finished, Chris wrote to the finalists inviting them to attend the Festival of Writing where the names of the winners will be revealed.

At the Award Ceremony on Saturday 1st September 2012, at Nottingham University, the 1st prize winner, and 2nd, 3rd and 4th places were revealed.

Certificates were posted out  to all finalists/commended, who didn't attend the festival. The engraved glass trophies not collected by the winners at the Awards Ceremony will also be sent out.

This year, six of our trophies have been generously paid for by supporters. Our heartfelt thanks to them – for their generous sponsorship for our awards from The Literary Consultancy, Sir Alan Ayckbourn, Professor David Lodge, Jilly Cooper and Denise Robertson, who has this year, generously sponsored a second trophy. Aine Chadwick has been given the honour of her name on an award in recognition of her many years as a very active and generous member of the NAWG Board of Trustees.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Berforts information Press Group for their continued generosity and support for our Open Writing Competitions and activities in general.

The Literary Consultancy Trophy – Open Poetry, judged by James Nash

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

ANDY HUMPHREY, Separate Taxis, York Writers.

  • Second place: JILL FRICKER, Ghost, Hastings Writers' Group.
  • Third place: VICKI BARTRAM, The Melancholy Death of Marriage, York Writers.
  • Fourth place: SHEILA CRAWFORD, Accommodation, Hexham Writers Group.
  • MRS ROSEMARY GRAY, Lessons in Christmas Craft, Ponteland Writers.
Formal Poem, judged by Alison Chisholm

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

PETER R. WHITE, Tea and Empathy, Leeds Writers Circle.

  • Second place: COLIN FERGUSON, Stone Angels, Thames Valley Writers' Circle.
  • Third place: ELIZABETH PARISH, The Selkie Wife, Salford Women's Writers & A Thursday Group.
  • Fourth place: JANETTE FISHER, Music and Memories, Carlisle Writers.
  • MAGGIE SPOONER, On Passing By, Wilmslow Writers' Group.
  • SHELAGH WAIN, Singin' the Blues; Burton Monday Writers.
  • MAGGIE DAVISON, Shall I Compare You to a Winter's Night? Marsden Writers & Hexham Writers.
The Aine Maire Chadwick Trophy – Poem for Children, judged by Pat Thomson

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

JEN KAHAWATTE, Monkey Business, Deal Writers.

  • Second place: CLAIRE McCLAUGHLIN, Grounded, Torridon Writers.
  • Third place: JILL FRICKER, The Mangy Cat, Hastings Writers' Group.
  • Fourth place: JOHN THOMPSON, Lament for Lost Love, Carmarthen Writers' Circle & Llanelli Writers' Circle.
  • VICTORIA GEORGE, Moons 12 Lines, Ponteland Writers.
  • HANNAH RODGER, He Promised, Trowell Writers' Trust.
The Professor David Lodge Trophy – Short Story with a Given Phrase, judged by Tim Wilson

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

JENNIFER FOSTER, Good Shepherd, Salisbury Writers’ Group.

  • Second place: ALANA JAMES, Cherry Popper, Reading Writers.
  • Third place: JOSH WILLIAMS, Multiply, Reading Writers.
  • Fourth place: JANET KILLEEN, Convergence, individual member.
The Jilly Cooper Trophy – Crime Short Story, judged by Lynne Patrick

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

JOAN CONDON, A Present from the Professor, individual member.

  • Second place: LYNNE C. POTTER, Satin Cushions, Hexham Writers Group.
  • Third place: HEATHER ANN RUSSELL, Lost, Ponteland Writers.
  • Fourth place: JOHN THOMPSON, The Lottery of Life and Death, Carmarthen Writers' Circle & Llanelli Writers' Circle.
  • SHEILA CRAWFORD, Leaving, Hexham Writers Group.
  • MARIA JOSEPHINE NELSON-LANGFORD, Broken Chords, Truro Creative Writing Group.
  • ROSALIND SIAN BALP, Synchronicity, Hastings Writers' Group.
The Denise Robertson Trophy – Picture Book Text, judged by Steve Bowkett

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

CHRISTINE McEWEN, Hunter Jack, Hexham Writers.

  • Second place: CELIA MEADE, Old Girl, Writers Reign.
  • Third place: MARGARET QUINN, Tiny Teddy, Marsden Writers' Group.
  • Fourth place: SHEILA CRAWFORD, Mina meets Horridula, Hexham Writers.
The Sir Alan Ayckbourn Trophy – Ten Minute Play, judged by Julie Bokowiec

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

ANN D. CLARK, Jewel, Leeds Writers' Circle.

  • Second place: ANDREW CONNOLLY, The Stone Man, Writers' Reign.
  • Third place: CAROL HURLEY, Old Joe, Wombourne Writers.
  • Fourth place: ALAN MURTON, Spring Cleaning, Truro Creative Writers' Group.
The Pam Fish Trophy – Poem by Children, judged by Steve Bowkett

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

ISABEL MURTON, Millais Ophelia, 12 year old granddaughter of Alan Murton.

  • Second place: AMBER RENSHAW, I know what to do …, 7 year old granddaughter of Helen Renshaw.
  • Third place: MINAKASHI DEVI COOK, My Life, 10 year old granddaughter of John Thompson.
  • Fourth place: LIBBY PILGRIM, Summer, 10 year old granddaughter of Helen Woodhead.
The Denise Robertson Group Anthology, judged by 2011 winners, The East Dulwich Writers' Group

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

Perspectives, Santiago Writers.

  • Second place: Anthology 2011, Leeds Writers' Circle.
  • Third place: Greenacres Writers Anthology, volume 1, Greenacre Writers.
Also in an original long list
  • Waggle Dance – An anthology, Writers Reign.
  • Beneath the Hills – a collection of writings, Ochil Writers' Group.
  • Pennine Reflections, Holmfirth Writers Group.
  • Two's Company, Volume 3, Tenterden Writers' Oblong.
  • Ghost Writers, Hastings Writers Group.
  • A Walk in the Park, Bold Writers.
The 2012 Mini-tale – The Best Tale

. . . As usual there can be only one winner! And the winner is . . .

Jo Sadler – pseudonym – E J Eldry.

  • Second place: Val Wooley – pseudonym – Vee Layton.
  • Third place: Toni Allen – pseudonym – Ann Muncey.
Article Actions
Article Information
Author: Pam Fish Date: June 5, 2014 3:43 pm
Categories: Members Only Competitions, Competition Results Tags: None
Comments: 0 – permitted Article: 2986 – public
Submit a New Comment
Alternatively, you can use your account, if you have one – Log in

article as:

Get Creative logo

Competition & Mentorships

We are proud to be associated with the Highlands & Islands Short Story Association.



  • Book Printing
  • Self Publishing
  • Anthologies
  • Hard and Soft Back Book Production
  • Free guide and sample book

CMP (uk) Ltd

G3 The Fulcrum, Vantage Way, Poole, Dorset, BH12 4HU

Telephone: 01202 739993